Last night I made the most amazing dinner, if I do say so myself.  T actully really liked it a lot too so I guess I’m not really being too vain.

Sometimes I feel like we fall into a dinner rut and make the same things over and over.  Or go out to eat instead of cooking.  I am trying to be better about this.

Last night I decided to make broiled salmon, fresh green beans, and rustic mashed potatoes.  I’ve made the salmon and beans before, but never the mashed potatoes.  I’ve made mashies before for shepherd’s pie, but never as a side dish for dinner.  So last night I decided to be creative and make them they way I wanted, from scratch.

First I stopped at the grocery store and picked up 2 salmon steaks, a bag of fresh green beans, and some little red potatoes.  Once I got home, the creativity began.  I threw the potatoes in the pot so they could cook and began making the seasoning for my salmon and mashed potatoes.

Normally I just brush a little butter on the salmon, sprinkle it with garlic salt and black pepper.  Last night I tried something new.  I melted a little less than half a stick of butter in a pan.  I drizzled a little olive oil on it so it wouldn’t burn.  Then I threw in some garlic paste, salt and pepper, and some parsley.  Once it was all melted, I brushed the salmon with it and broiled it in the oven for 15-20 minutes (one piece was a bit thicker than the other, so it took a little longer).

Once the potatoes were fork tender, I drained them but saved a little bit of the cooking water in the pot.  Then I mashed the potatoes (with the skins on) into the water, added the butter mixture, a splash of milk, a few tablespoons of sour cream and stirred.  I decided I wanted the potatoes to be a little more garlicy, so I added more garlic paste, along with more salt and pepper and some chives.  Let me tell you, those were some of the best mashed potatoes I’ve ever had.  I was pretty impressed with myself since that was maybe my third time ever making them! 🙂

For the beans, I just boiled them in salted water for about 10 minutes, drained them, and added in a tiny bit of butter and salt and pepper.

I have some leftovers that I am about to eat for lunch, and I can’t wait.  It was that good!

For your viewing pleasure…my lunch.

Please note my classy paper plate and plastic cutlery.

If I get a chance tonight (T wants me to go work clothes shopping with him after work) I want to make falafels with my homemade tzatziki sauce.  It is damn good!

