Remember when I first received my summons for jury duty, really far away?  Well, I got it straightened out, but they wanted me to serve the week of my wedding.  I told them no, and it was finally bumped into September.  Well I found out that I was on call for the US District Court of North GA.  This means that I have to call everyday for 10 business days after 5 p.m. to find out if I am supposed to report.

I was scheduled to show up at 8 a.m. on September 29.  Fortunately we had our huge media trip that weekend, and I was able to bump it up till Monday.  Unfortunately, media trip weekends are very draining.  There are a lot of activities crammed into a few short days.  This means early mornings and late nights, which equals exhaustion once the trip ends.

I reported to duty bright and early Monday morning, at 8 a.m sharp.  Boo.  We sat in a room for a while, did some roll calls, watched an awful movie from the 90s about being a juror .  It was terrible.  I had to try really hard to not fall out of my chair laughing.  After the film, we were told that there were 2 cases that needed jurors.  They wouldn’t last longer than the end of the week.

I got called for one case and was ushered along to a court room with about 30 other people.  We sat around for a bit in the fancy courtroom, which was having air conditioning problems.  Then the attorneys started asking us questions to weed out those of us who could mess up their case.  The case involved 2 defendants who were accused of possession of marijuana with the intent to sell and carrying a fire arm.  They both seemed pretty young.  One of the defendant’s family was their to support him.  The other defendant had no one there.  It was a little sad.

After a few rounds of questions and a lunch break, they jury was announced.  Luckily I wasn’t chosen, but I’m still on call for the rest of this week and next week.  Boo.

I think my beliefs about America needing more gun control got me out of it.  No defense attorney wants a girl on their jury who believes the average person shouldn’t be allowed to buy a gun whenever they want.  Go me!

Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t have to go back…please!

