I live in a townhouse, so I don’t have an external mailbox.  I have a mail slot on my door.  For the most part, it’s really handy, and I love it.  I don’t have to worry about stopping my mail when I go out of town for an extended period of time because all of my mail ends up in my entryway on the other side of the front door.  If I’m lazy and don’t want to check the mail, I don’t have to worry about the mailbox filling up because I didn’t get the mail.  The pile just gets bigger on the floor, making the house look cluttered.  I also don’t have to worry about someone stealing my mail since it’s in my house.  If they kicked my door in, I think I’d have more to worry about than someone stealing my mail.

Well, recently our mail carrier has been sucking at life (sad, but true).  I can’t tell you how many times I end up with mail that should be going to my neighbors.  I can understand it happening every once in a while.  Mail sticks together or gets caught up in a coupon flier.  But the mail mix ups happen at least 3-4 times a month.  Sometimes I just get one piece, other times I get a couple.  And this is starting to worry me.

Since the wedding is almost here, we are expecting RSVPs back from our guests.  Who knows, we may also start receiving presents or cards with money in them.  If the mail carrier fucks up and gives our mail to the neighbors, who knows if they will give it back in a timely fashion or at all.  I don’t want to take that gamble.  Over the weekend I received an RSVP from my co-worker Mel that was all taped up.  I didn’t think anything of it.  I figured she forgot to include the number of guests on it or something so she opened it back up.  So I said something to her at work the other day, and she was clueless.  She hadn’t forgotten anything.  The mail genius delivered it to someone else, who accidentally opened it.

That brings me to another example of their carelessness.  We have a glass/screen door in front of our front door.  Sometimes we leave the door open so the cats can lay in the sunspots.  Well, if we leave the front door open, the mail carriers can’t reach the slot.  So they usually just knock, open the door, announce they are there, and toss the mail in.  One of the carriers did that the other day, and all of a sudden asked T, who was sitting in the kitchen, “This isn’t 240 is it?”  “No.”  “Oops, I think I just dropped your mail in the wrong slot because I wasn’t paying attention.”  Really?!?!  That is your fucking job.  You are handling people’s important mail.  You can’t not be paying attention.  Jackass.

Anyway, I went to the USPS Web site to complain because I’m tired of getting other people’s mail and not knowing whether strangers are getting mine.  Hopefully this little problem will get fixed.  Seriously, is it that hard to match up the numbers on the envelopes to the ones on the door?  I think not.

