So, I was just browsing some news articles when I found this one about the Rachel Ray/Dunkin Donuts ad that got pulled because some right wing Americans thought that her scarf looked like a kaffiyeh, the traditional Arab headdress that, to some people, has come to symbolize terrorism.  They complained and threatened to boycott Dunkin, so the ad got pulled.

Seriously?  Don’t people have more to worry about than an online commercial featuring a person wearing a scarf.  People have way too much time on their hands to worry about the lesser things in life than to focus on what really matters.

I find it really offensive that these people can be so openly ethnocentric.  If I were a Muslim customer, I would be seriously offended by this move. Not all Muslims who wear scarves are terrorists, and it is ridiculous to me that people would say that the ad supports terrorists.

I try not to be overly judgmental, but very conservative people really bug me.  Often times they are the ones that preach and bash anything that doesn’t go along with their beliefs.  The supposed religious purists who end up being more racist and mean than most people I know really get under my skin.  If you are going to preach being a certain way, than dammit you better act that way too.  Practice what you preach or shut the fuck up!

If I were Dunkin, I would have kept the commercial running and not caved into the narrow-minded ways of the conservative Fox News commentators and their lemmings.  Plenty of liberals are out there to buy coffee and donuts.

