Howdy ho readers! I know it’s been a minute since I last posted, but I’ve been busy.  This may be a bit wordy…

This weekend I got to go to our client in the mountains for a media trip, so my weekend was spent eating, drinking, staying, and doing fun activities for free. It’s always so much fun to go on these trips, but at the same time I am always the youngest person there (usually by 20 years or more). Our days also start extremely early, and I am not a morning person. I usually have to be up and showered and ready for breakfast by 8:30. Then we spend the day hopping from activity to activity, showing the journalists all that the resort has to offer. I’m not complaining about it, but man am I tired after a one of those weekends. I am also still sore from the golf lesson I took on Sunday. Who knew golf was so painful! Want my advice? Stretch…really well…before you decide to start swinging a club. Your arms and back will love you. Trust me!

Since I was technically working all weekend, my boss gave me a day off. Love her! I chose Tuesday since it was my mom’s 50th birthday. I also had a hair appointment that evening, and since I was off I could go earlier in the afternoon. My sister and I made a pasta dish and salad from Giada’s cookbook, and it was awesome! I think it’s out of the everyday Italian or pasta one. We made spaghetti with shrimp and calms in a Pinot Grigio sauce and a citrus salad with parmesan crisps! So yummy. We also proceeded to drink the rest of the wine we used for the sauce and opened one of the bottles we got her as a present to go along with her new wine rack. Then some neighbors stopped in, so we moved to the porch to enjoy the nice night…until the sky turned this eerie yellowish shade and all hell broke loose! The wind was whipping, it was pouring like someone turned on a faucet, and it was thundering and lightning like crazy. It was kind of scary! We finally had to move inside when the wind blew a burst of water under the covered porch, and we got a little wet. Then I remembered that I had left my windows open since it had been so nice out in the morning. Luckily JD was home and has a key. She was nice enough to shut the windows before the storms hit Atlanta and soaked my bedroom. I also ended up crashing at my parents’ house since I’d had a few glasses of wine, and it’s a 45-minute drive back to my house. That meant I had to be up at 6:45 this morning, which was not fun. But I did make it to work early…8:55. Go me!

I had my second (?) wedding nightmare on Monday/Tuesday morning. It was horrible, and bizarre at the same time. I don’t remember all of it since I didn’t get a chance to write it down right when I woke up, but it basically went something like this:

It was my wedding day, and I hadn’t gotten my dress altered for some reason. I was in my basement of my first house, slightly freaking out because the dress didn’t completely fit. It was a little loose on the top, so as I walked around it would start to twist. Eventually the front would be on my side. Plus it was all black with a white portion in the middle. Then as I went to put on my veil and tiara, I couldn’t figure out how to make them stay on my head. Completely frustrated, I asked the lady from the dress store to help me (not quite sure how I ended up there). She shoved this little clip into my hair and attached the veil and tiara to it. When I turned to look in the mirror, I almost had a heart attack. It looked like a cardboard Statue of Liberty crown that was covered in glitter! I told her this wasn’t what I ordered, and she fought with me telling me that it was. I finally lost the battle and looked at myself again, nearly in tears. I looked like a frigging idiot. She had also put my veil on weird and it flipped over the “crown” so it reminded me of some headdress thing that queens used to wear back in the day. Maybe it looked more like a nun hat…I can’t quite picture it anymore but it was HEINOUS! Then there was drama with my cake. It was this plain and boring white sheet cake from a grocery store that had red writing all over it. There was also a smaller sheet cake chunk that was supposed to stack on top of it. For some reason my dad was drying to stack the pieces together when he dropped the one piece, icing side down, onto the larger one. This resulted in a pink, swirly mess. Then someone had the brilliant idea to scrape the icing off and start over.

That’s when I woke up. It was pretty disturbing and weird. I guess that’s what I get for snoozing for an hour and drifting in and out of sleep.

I also got an estimate back from the florist I met with last week, and the prices weren’t even that bad. I don’t think.  I’ve heard that a lot of people spend around $4,000 on flowers (which I think is crazy) and his prices aren’t even close to that.  Yay me.  Plus T’s mom offered to pay for them (makes my parents happy), and she said we can get whatever we want.  I don’t want to break the bank, but I think it’s doable!

