April 9th was my one-year anniversary at my PR job that I love. I work in a really small boutique agency – there are about 6 of us here (including one intern and another girl who’s on maternity leave) – so everything is really hands-on. I have three clients that I work on, on a regular basis, and they are great. When I first started here, I basically jumped right it. It was nice to actually be in an environment where my boss could let go of her clients and let me be the main contact.

Besides finally landing a job where I am actually doing what I like, there are some awesome perks. One of them being free travel! I know, it’s awesome. My boss has two 4-year old twin girls, so she is over traveling for all of the media trips we make. She still goes on some, but has also asked me to go along or run them on my own.

There is one coming up in two days, and I can’t wait! I get to spend four days at the beach, for free, showing journalists why my client rocks. It’s going to be great. I’ll get to try some new things (horseback riding, kayaking, maybe golf) and meet some of the people I correspond with on a regular basis. I’m super excited.

In May, I get to go on another trip to our client in the mountains. I went last July so I could experience what I was pitching, and it was great. Escaping Atlanta smog for fresh mountain air is amazing.

Another perk about working in a smaller office is the more flexible time off. We have to all schedule days off/trips around our each other’s to make sure the office is covered, but that’s still not bad. For example: A couple of Fridays ago I had a hair appointment at 6 p.m. My hair dresser is about 45 minutes south of where I live/work. This means that I needed to leave the office at 4:30 to make it there on time with traffic. I told my boss the whole reason I was going on Friday was because my engagement pictures were on the 13th, and I wanted to have cute hair.  Well, Atlanta traffic SUCKS, especially on Fridays, and I never made it. So I had to reschedule for the following Friday.  Unfortunately they had no Saturday appointments and could only fit me in during the week.  I waited to tell my boss because I was hoping something would change. It didn’t, but she was cool with it.

She’s also cool with all of the days that I will have to take off for wedding related events. Showers in NY, bachelorette party, wedding weekend and honeymoon. I love this job!

On a different note, I picked up my veil a few days ago. I put it on when I got home, and it was so weird. I felt like I was playing dress up in other people’s things. My dress is supposed to get here mid-May. That’s exciting, but also means I need to get a lot more serious about getting in shape. No more slacking!

