Woo hoo, I survived the doctor.  Even though he really got on my nerves.  He was nice, but then started going off on me about smoking.  I was like, simmer down dude.  I know it’s bad for me, and I don’t know why I do it, but back the fuck off.  I’m working on quitting.  I really don’t smoke that much during the week.  I can go days without doing it.  But as soon as I have a drink (or 5) in my hand, I’m a chimney. 

Anyway, tonight T, my parents and I are going to the tasting for our wedding caterer.  The place we are having the ceremony/reception at provides the food and beer and wine.  I am so excited to finally try the food.  Every time I’ve been there, I could smell it being prepared for another event, and it smelled amazing! 

We are getting married on a Sunday, so we are getting an awesome packaged deal for not a lot of money (read:  under $10,000 for food, alcohol, reception/ceremony venues, tables, chairs, wedding coordinator, wait staff, security, parking and cake services).  My parents can afford to give me thousands for a wedding, but they feel it’s stupid to drop $30,000 for one day.  I completely agree, and that’s why I’m doing it on Sunday instead of Saturday.  Even though I’d go all out if I had tons of spare cash to throw around. 🙂

Since we have the all inclusive package, we have two menu options to choose from:

Option A
Canapés-tray passed
  Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes
  Feta & Spinach Spanakopita
Buffet
  Stuffed Chicken Breasts
  Hickory Roasted Salmon
  Sweet & Sour Meatballs
  Baked Artichoke Pate
  Potato Gratin
  Asparagus Tips
  Assorted Breads & Rolls

Option B
Canapés-tray passed
  Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes
  Mini Beef Wellington
Buffet
  Roast Pork Tenderloin
  French Lemon Chicken
  Marinated Shrimp
  Baked Artichoke Pate
  Herbed Rice Pilaf
  Crudités with Herb Dip
  Assorted Breads & Rolls

I’m really excited about the spanakopita and crab cakes because I heart them!  For the buffet, I am torn.  I like a mix of both menus.  I’ve heard that if I’m not a bridezilla, the owner will be more flexible and let me mix it up.  Hopefully she likes me (haha, who doesn’t – I’m joking).  What I’d love would be:  stuffed chicken breasts, roast pork tenderloin, marinated shrimp, artichoke pate, herbed rice pilaf, asparagus tips, and the rolls.  Hopefully she’ll let me mix it up a little. 

I’m also hoping there will be a cake vendor there tonight.  On the day of my first visit, they were hosting a tasting, and there was one there.  She had a cupcake cake, which I thought was a pretty cool idea.  T really wants to do one, but I am still torn.  I like how fun a cupcake is, but I also like how cool traditional cakes look.  Oh…so many decisions, so little time!  🙂     

By the way, I made shepherd’s pie for the first time the other night, and it was amazing!  I thought it would be a fun St. Patty’s dinner (even though it’s British, d’oh).  I found a recipe from everyone’s favorite Rach(I hear that’s what she’s calling herself now) and doctored it up a bit.  I added carrots and celery to the meat and used a mix of colby and cheddar for the cheese.  Let me tell you.  It was damn good!  T said he could eat it for days and never get tired of it.  Even though it was so tasty, it definitely took me about an hour to make.  No 30 minute meal here.  In fact, every 30 minute meal I’ve ever made has taken me about an hour, even with help.  I think someone’s telling us a lie… 

