Normally I’m not very into politics.  A lot of the time I feel like politicians will say one thing to get your vote and do another once they are in office.  But today was Gerogia’s presidential primary, and I was sure as hell going to vote.  I woke up a little earlier than usual (aren’t you proud of me) so I could go to my polling place before work.  Thank God it is right around the corner from my house, and there weren’t a lot of people there.  I was in and out in less than 10 minutes (a majority of that time was spent trying to decide who would get my vote – Hillary or Obama).

I had a really hard time choosing between the two of them.  I spent last night scouring the Internet for a page where I could compare their platforms side-by-side.  It took me a while, but I finally found one but I still wasn’t sure.  They seem so similar on many issues, and they both advocate things I believe in.  In the end I went with the one I had considered voting for months ago – people always tell you to go with your first choice.   

What really excites me about this upcoming election is that our choices for president are expanding.  We are well past-due for having someone run our country besides white, conservative men.  I look forward to entering into a new era where a black man or a female can run this country.  Why should it matter what the president looks like?  All I care about is how he/she will change our country for the better.  It’s time to loose those uptight Republicans and bring in someone who is much more forward-thinking.  In the end, I just hope that a Democratic candidate will be in charge of our country for the next four years, even if it’s not the person I voted for.        

georgiavoter.jpg

On a different note, today is Mardi Gras!  Happy Fat Tuesday everyone!  My little sister spent the weekend in New Orleans (leaving me, super jealous…grrr), and I can’t wait to hear all of her crazy stories.  This is the second year in a row she’s gone, and I haven’t even been once!  Maybe one of these years it’ll happen (once T is done with his crazy busy seasons and CPA studying).  I probably won’t make it out to celebrate tonight since everyone has to get up earlier than me for work tomorrow.  But I am going to a hockey game tonight, so maybe they’ll be throwing out some beads.    

Laissez les bons temps rouler mes amis!

