I know money can’t buy happiness, but it would sure as hell help! 

As January is coming to an end, I’m starting to realize the insane amount of money that I am about to spend in 2008.  To start things off with a bang, I am getting my wisdom teeth out on February 29th (why in the hell do we have teeth that we don’t need that eventually get ripped out??).  Of course my dental insurance doesn’t cover the extraction of impacted wisdom teeth, so I have to bill it through my medical insurance.  Thank God that my medical has a clause for extraction of impacted teeth because I would have to drop close to $2,000 out of pocket to get those suckers out.  But (there’s always a but) since my company is pretty small, we don’t have the most awesome benefits.  In order to get the teeth removal covered, I have to pay my $1,000 deductible out of pocket before the insurance will get the rest.  Why don’t you wait until after you are married and switch to T’s insurance, you ask?  Well, one of those fuckers is already trying to work its way out, and I don’t want it ruining my teeth before the wedding.  So yeah, that really sucks.  There goes a big chunk out of my savings that I would much rather use for our honeymoon or wedding rings, or hell to fix my leaking bathroom (you’ll learn more about that in a second).

The other morning I was downstairs getting my jeans out of the laundry room (who am I kidding, it’s a closet) and heard this strange sound.  I thought it was my fat cat Zoey eating or drinking water, so I looked down.  Nope, not the cat.  I heard it again and looked up.  Water was dripping out of the ceiling in the laundry room.  I grabbed a cup and told T to stop the shower (thank God it was a really short one).  We’d been having this little water spot that was slowly spreading on the ceiling, so my dad had come out and re-caulked parts of the tub thinking it would fix it.  Guess not.  He came by on Sunday and replaced the faucet and everything seemed to be better.  But on Monday I noticed that there was more water in the cup.  So, maybe it’s not working.  This means my dad will probably have to come and rip out the ceiling and/or parts of the bathroom, forcing us to renovate the bathroom before the wedding (I bought this condo in 2006, and we fixed up everything but the bathrooms because we wanted to save up some more money before we started the next major project).  Fucking glorious.  Cha-ching $$$$$.

We also have the problem of paying for (affording) the honeymoon.  My parents are putting down a big chunk of the change for the wedding, and T’s parents are also helping with some parts of it.  That leaves paying for the rings and honeymoon up to me and T, which I have no problem with.  But we want to go to Greece for our honeymoon so afterwards we can jet to Germany for my Opa’s (grandfather in German) 80th birthday celebration, party with our German families since most of them won’t come to the wedding, and Oktoberfest (we promised everyone we’d come back again this year).  With the dollar being craptacular, this means the trip will probably cost at least $4,000-5,000 – oh joy!

Unfortunately being in the journalism/PR field, you don’t often make a ton of money (which completely sucks).  I love my job and don’t want to do anything else, but sometimes I imagine that I could make a lot more if I was in the business world.  I think out of all of my friends (most of whom are in the business field) I make the least.  Keep your fingers crossed – I’m hoping I will be up for a raise soon since I’ve been here almost a year. 

All I have to say is Yay for T being an accountant.  Their hours suck, but they make bank.  Sigh….       

