I think my biggest problem in life is that I’m lazy.  LAZY.  I have every intention of doing stuff after work, but then I get home and hit the couch and it’s over.  I try to be more motivated.  I give myself pep-talks (come on Bing, cleaning your room isn’t that bad).  And still, the task does not get accomplished.  Every once in a while I’ll get a wild hare up my ass (what a weird saying) and dive head-first into the task I’ve put off, but that doesn’t happen too often.

Case in point 1:  My Bedroom (eeeek)

I have been talking about really cleaning mine and T’s room for months.  It’s gotten to the point that it’s ridiculous.  Clothes piles are everywhere along with suitcases that haven’t been used in months (you’d be surprised by how many suitcases we have), shoes are laying in front of the closet and not in it, T’s clothes are neatly folded into stacks in front of the closet while mine hang from the closet door frame.  What can I say??  We seriously suck at maintaining the upstairs.  The downstairs frequently gets straightened up, dusted and vacuumed, and our bedroom looks like a freaking tornado just blew in and threw up our crap everywhere.  I had planned to clean out my closet before the end of 2007 and donate old clothes to the Goodwill that’s 2 minutes from my house.  Do you want to know what I did?  I pulled some clothes out that I never wear and threw them into a pile that is still on the floor (what’s the rush now since I have till this December to get them to Goodwill?).

I keep trying to rationalize why I haven’t cleaned – I was too hungover, I had other more important plans, there is no cable upstairs and I can’t watch any good TV (I think this is the real reason).  So, now I’m going to try to change.  Since all of our favorite TV shows’ writers are striking and we are stuck with re-runs or some strange reality shows (even though I really want to see that Moment of Truth Show), I will  drag my lazy sloth-like self upstairs and clean while I watch mindless reality TV.  Wish me luck!

Case in point 2:  The Gym (gag)

I really am not a huge fan of going to the gym.  It smells, it’s always way too crowded, the big creepy muscle heads always stare you down, and people that weigh 98 pounds are working out like maniacs (seriously, go eat a hamburger and give the machines to the people who actually need to get in shape for their weddings-me).  I always want to go to a class, but I want someone to go with me.  It’s more fun with a friend (plus I like having someone there that might screw up as much as me so we can laugh about it), and it’s less intimidating to join a new class with someone you know.  Plus I’ve watched some of the classes at my gym, and they would totally kick my ass!  I’d be passed out on the floor, I’m sure. 

My new goal is to try and get up and go in the morning.  I really suck at going after work.  I get off at 6:00, then have to drive to the gym, change, and wait in line for a machine (hatred).  By the time I get home it’s after 8:00, and I still have to make dinner (yuck).  So I am going to try to be in bed by 10:30 at the latest so I can get up in the morning and go.  This morning, T had the alarm set for 6:00 a.m., and I didn’t even hear it.  I went to bed around 11:45 and totally slept through the gym alarm (yeah, I suck).  Now I HAVE to go after work because wedding body does not come from sitting on the couch (wouldn’t that be amazing if it did though?).   

sloth-2.jpg

     Don’t judge me because I’m lazy!  :)