What can I say, I love food.  Sometimes I feel my life revolves around what I will eat next.  When I  wake up in the morning, I’m thinking about breakfast.  As I eat my first meal of the day, I am already dreaming about lunch and dinner (I think I get that from my mom’s father who’s obsessed with eating and has to eat breakfast at 9, lunch at 12, coffee at 3, and dinner at 6. If he doesn’t eat at his set time, he starts to freak out). 

When I was younger, I used to have the metabolism of a maniac.  I could eat all day, every day and still be super skinny (imagine – 5’10 and 115 pounds).  It probably helped that I was a lot more active back then.  Who knew college and all that late night drinking and eating, then sitting at a desk for 8+ hours after graduation would catch up one day (sigh)?  

Even though I weigh more now than I ever have before, I’m not too upset about it.  For the most part I think I have a pretty good body, with the exception of my stomach area.  Being European, that’s where I carry my weight, so no matter how tiny I get, I probably will never have a super flat stomach (sucks, I know).  I do have a pretty big chest though, so I think that tends to take the focus off of my other imperfections (Thank Gold!).  I definitely want to get into better shape, tone up in general and work on my overall strength.  That would make me happy.

Since I am trying to lose a little weight and be healthier in general, I am trying to cook a lot more often.  For the most part, I cook at least 3 times during the week, but for a while I was slacking off.  It’s so stupid because I love to cook.  I know some of the stuff I make may not be super healthy, but hell it tastes amazing so I can live with that. 

Last week I made fish tacos, and they were awesome!  I found the recipe on allrecipes.com, but I doctored it up.  It tells you to make a marinade that you soak the fish in for 8 hours, and seriously who has time for that in the morning.  I can’t even drag my ass out of bed to make it to work on time, so there is no way in hell I could make a fish marinade before I bounced out the door.  So I just took tilapia filets and seasoned them with the spices that were listed, rubbed on some Tabasco, and squeezed a little lime on them, broiled them for 10 minutes, and voila, fish that tastes awesome.  The sauce for the tacos is also really good.  I used light sour cream (one time I did a mix of sour cream and Miracle Whip, and that was tasty too), and wrapped the whole thing in a lo-cal tortilla, topped it with shredded cabbage and cheese.  It was so yummy and probably fairly healthy too.  🙂   

Another one of my favorite creations is my turkey burger.  I stole the ingredients from T’s dad’s hamburger recipe and changed it up a bit.  I use ground turkey breast (because the darker ground turkey is almost as fatty as beef) and mix in garlic paste, horseradish, Worcester sauce, onion powder, parsley, salt and pepper.  Then grill them (I made them in a pan last time, and they weren’t as good as they are off the grill) and top them with Havarti cheese.  So awesome!  If I eat bread with it, I put it on a deli style roll.  Top it off with deli mustard and ketchup, and you’re on your way to burger heaven!    

What are some of your favorite healthier recipes? 

Here’s a helpful weight loss tip:  If you are a sucker for fast food hamburgers (you know after a night of drinking you might cave and eat a Big Mac.  You can admit it; I won’t judge.) watch the movie Fast Food Nation.  It gives you a glimpse into the world of meat packing companies, and it’s not pretty but it might make you think twice about that Big Mac.  **sidenote:  if you plan to eat during the movie, don’t wait till the end to do it.**

Happy Weekend!  

  

