Well, well.  I am a blogging super slacker.  I can’t believe I haven’t posted since March!  Things just have been so hectic this year, and time has gotten away from me.

As summer makes its punch you in the face with extreme heat entrance, it made me think of some things that I am really loving.  So I thought I’d come back from my hiatus and share it with you.

1.  Our sweet new ride

T has been dying to get a new car, especially since his A/C bit the dust last summer.  He didn’t want to go through another GA summer with open windows as the only way to “cool” down the car.  He wanted to get a really sporty car; I wanted something more practical.  In the end, after much hemming and hawing and a test drive, we opted for the sporty car – an Infinit G37S.  And guys, I love it!  Is it practical – no.  Is it a lot of fun to drive – yes.  Do I feel like a badass zooming past people on the highway (in the left lane) – yes.  Will I enjoy driving it for the rest of the week while T is at roasting alive at Bonnaroo – hell yes!

The shiny new car - Vrooom!

2.  Fun Nail Polish

The other week I was checking out a blog and stumbled across a post about Sally Hansen’s new Salon Effects – Real Nail Polish Strips.  I am not the best at painting my nails myself, so I thought these would be perfect for me.  I picked up the sparkly Blue Ice strips and gave them a whirl.  They are so easy to put on and don’t make a huge mess!  They lasted about a week, but that included time in the pool and cleaning house (which I’m sure isn’t helpful for staying power).  Plus, if I’d had some topcoat to apply on top after I stuck them on, I think they would have held up even longer.  My only complaint is that they are about $10 a box and only come with 16 strips.  This means that even if you have some leftovers, you can’t get a second use out of them.  Boo!

Another cool Sally Hansen product I’m loving is the new Crackle Overcoat.  It comes in eight fun shades and is super easy to apply.  You just pick out your base color, then top it with a crackle, and voila – awesome nails in an instant.  I chose black as a base topped with Fracture Foil (a silver coat), and I am in love!  It looks so cool, and each nail is slightly different.  I am so hooked.  I am planning on stopping by the store to pick up some more crackles in red, blue and maybe purple!

Fun nails

3.  Frozen Yogurt

For some reason 2011 has been the year of craving ice cream for me.  I’m not sure why, but I can’t seem to get enough of it.  But alas, ice cream isn’t the best for trying to be skinny.  Luckily for me, there is a Yoforia right by my office, so I can hit that up when I have a frosty craving.  Since it’s 90-million degrees in Atlanta today (and will be that way for the rest of the week), I decided that I should much on some fro-yo.  I like going there because you can sample all the flavors then pick your faves.  Today I went with a tasty combo of taro, cookies & cream, and peanut butter.  I topped these three with some dark and white chocolate chips.  Let me tell you, it was heaven!  All of the flavors are good, but taro is my favorite.  I’m not sure what it is about it, but I love it!

4.  Pool Time

I love water – pools, oceans (with no jellyfish), lakes, rivers, you name it.  Maybe it’s because I’m a water sign.  Maybe it’s because it’s so cool and refreshing.  Who knows… Anyway, this means that summer is one of my favorite seasons because I can spend my weekends lounging at the pool, working on my tan, and being in the water.  We have three pools in my neighborhood – two smaller ones intended for adults and one Olympic-sized one intended for families.  Maybe instead of just lounging around this summer, I can actually take my butt down to the big pool and swim some laps so I don’t look like a heifer at my sister’s wedding in September!

Is there anything that you are really loving at the moment?

*And if you are looking for a new blog read, Little S has started a blog.  Go check her out if you have a chance! *

 

