About 2 weeks before my wedding, my neighborhood started doing repairs on my street.  My neighborhood is fairly large and has been around since the late 1960s, so every few years they focus on updating different areas of the neighborhood.  My street along with 2 others was going to be getting the water pipes that bring the water from the street into the building replaced.  I didn’t think too much of it because it never really affected me because when they turned the water off, I was at work.

All was fine and dandy.  They dug up the old pipes and laid new ones, and we went on with our lives.  About a week after the pipes were laid, they repaved the street to fix the holes that had been dug to access the pipes.  This was slightly sucky because we had to keep our cars off of the parking lots/streets for about 2 days, but it wasn’t the end of the world.

Right after all of the construction was finished, I started noticing that the water pressure had changed some.  I figured it was because of the new pipes and maybe air had gotten in there and was messing up the pressure (clearly I am an expert at plumbing and pipes….yeah, um no).  It never really got better, and I was getting annoyed.  When I had my water turned on at the highest level, it was like I had barely turned it on.  So I did what any concerned citizen would do.  I called the maintenance people and told them to check it out.  They sent the neighborhood repair guy over, and he looked at the meter/pump thing in front of my house (see my plumbing skills coming through again?) and said it looked like the pressure was too low.  He told me he’d send someone out to mess with it while T and I were on our honeymoon.  That was fine with me.  I gave my neighbor a heads up because he was having problems too.

We got back from our honeymoon on September 2nd, and the pressure was still the same.  I was annoyed but kept forgetting to call maintenance again.  Well, this week the water pressure has gone to shit.  On Monday I was in the shower, all soaped up with shampoo in my hair when then pressure went from “meh” to “is there any fucking water coming out?”  Yeah, it was awful.

My shower started off with a decent stream of water, with not a lot of pressure, but it was similar to this:

And ended up like this, I think even less water came out at one point:

Yeah, it was ridiculous.  A quick shower turned into a 20 minute ordeal because there wasn’t enough water to rinse the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair.  I seriously had to excel at shower gymnastics to be able to squish my 5’10 self under the faucet to rinse off since the water came out a little bit better from down there.

I was (and still am) pissed, so I called maintenance again.  They said a lot of other people are having problems too, and they are working to fix it.  That was on Monday.  And guess what?  The water is still shitty.  And I totally meant to call again today, but I forgot.  And the office closes at 4:30 on Fridays.  Grrrr…

Keep your fingers crossed that I get my water pressure back!